Whenever a trading account meets a specific period of inactivity, it is added to the archived accounts area of your Personal Area. We have prepared a guide on everything you need to know about these archived trading accounts.
- How a trading account can be archived
- What are the restrictions applied to an archived account?
- What happens to funds in an archived account?
- Restoring archived accounts
- Deleting a trading account
How a trading account can be archived
There are two ways in which a trading account can be archived:
As a client, you can choose to manually archive (hide) the accounts currently not in use.
To do so:
- Click on the gear icon to bring up the trading account’s settings.
- Click Archive account.
Real trading accounts for both MT4 and MT5 are archived, while demo trading accounts are deleted when inactive to reduce the load on our servers. Inactivity is defined by a user not logging into their trading account on any trading terminals, including MT4 and MT5; logging into your Personal Area does not make an inactive trading account active.
Check out the conditions below:
For real accounts, inactivity means not trading while inactivity for demo accounts means not logging into your demo trading account.
What are the restrictions applied to an archived account?
An archived account cannot be used for the below functions:
*If you’ve archived the trading account manually, it will still be available for trading.
What happens to funds in an archived account?
Funds in an archived trading account are not available for withdrawal unless the account is restored to its active state.
Restoring archived accounts (only for Real accounts)
Real trading accounts that have been archived can be restored with a single click if you want to continue using them.
To do so:
- Log in to your Personal Area.
- Select the Archived tab in the My Accounts area.
- Choose the trading account you would like to restore and click Reactivate.
Deleting a trading account
Trading accounts cannot be deleted manually, but archiving a trading account hides it from the Real or Demo tabs in your Personal Area. Demo trading accounts are deleted automatically after a certain period of inactivity.
MT4 demo trading accounts are deleted after 180 days of inactivity, while MT5 demo trading accounts are deleted after 14 to 21 days.
Do note that the number of days to delete an account may change at any time due to requirements for server maintenance.